Skip to content

Race Results…and Drama

June 6, 2010

Cowbells, marshmallows, and bacon. That’s what I remember from my first 10k run last week.

First, the race drama. I rested two days before the race. That turned out to be a mistake. I was so wired the night before the race, I didn’t sleep well. I had to get up at 3am and do a workout just to get to sleep! I think I slept 4 hours total, which did not bode well for my heart rate. We also did not allow ourselves enough time to get to our wave start. We hurriedly worked ourselves through the crowds to get to our wave about 30 seconds before it started!! We were in wave MR, which I think stands for “Move to the Rear”. There were a total of 88 waves, so our alphabetical order will give you an idea of how far back we were. When the gun went off, Bear asked if we were starting, and I said, “this is it!” Forget the warm up, we were off. I was too distracted to notice that Dr._Oz did not start our wave. He was one of the race starters, and runners, but he was up in wave MA for his race.

The Blues Brothers greeted us half a mile down the road. Elvis was somewhere around mile 1.5. Most of the other 28 bands on the course sucked. Let’s just say I was glad to have my i.Pod with me! I really liked the male belly dancer though! The marshmallow toss was somewhere around mile 2.2. I dodged them, and tried not to get a marshmallow stuck to my running shoe. Somehow, I missed the slip-n-slide around mile 3, and the tater-tot toss. I did see people plunging into a sizable baby pool, but skipped that. I just wanted to meet my goal! The giant bacon sign at mile 5, with “Pork is the new Powerbar” written over it cracked me up. I think the best thing about the race was seeing everyday people cheering you at different parts of the course. I remember the grandma somewhere past mile 3 cheering me on, the squad of pom-pom girls, and the drunken dancers next to the mobile homes. Some citizens were offering beer shots. I gagged at the Gatorade I accidentally grabbed at the first aid station, let alone beer! (though I think the beer would have tasted better) It was also cool to see how many people I was running with when looking down on the top of a hill! Just over 50,000 people finished the race. That’s about half the population of the town I live in!

Bear totally killed the race. He finished under an hour, with 9 minute miles! Pretty amazing for someone who maybe ran once a week to train. Oh, to be 16 again!!

My time: 1:14:54

That’s right, 6 seconds under my goal of finishing in 1 hour 15 minutes! It was a rush running into the university stadium at the end, sprinting the victory lap! I would have had my complimentary beer offered at the end of the race if it would have been gluten free. I ran 12 minute miles, which is the best I’ve ever done, considering this was the first time I had ever run 6.2 miles!

I was pretty happy about how I did, until I got to work the next day and discovered that one of my co-workers who was in the second wave finished in under 40 minutes AND did beer shots along the way. This is what happens when you live in a town of athletic overachievers. Dr._Oz also killed it in under an hour, even though he’s a flat lander. He also went on to do a peppy TV interview later, while I was watching it from bed after waking up from my nap!

Part of the other drama about the whole race was whether or not Bear was going to run it with me. I hadn’t been paying attention to who’s holiday weekend it was, and the ex got really pissed when she thought I was planning this race without asking her if Bear could come with me. It was an honest mistake, and I dropped it. Bear really wanted to do the race, though. He said that if he went away that weekend with his mom, he wanted to be back for the race on Memorial Day!! I also learned that the ex was thinking about walking the race, which I would have been totally fine with. Bear told me how she would have walked it if she gave him a ride to the race, but wouldn’t if he got a ride with us. His reaction to that was that he didn’t understand why what his mom did around the race depended on him. I think he had respect for me in that I was going to do the race whether he ran it with me or not. Him running it with me was just the icing on the cake. He basically appreciated that what I do in life does not depend on what he is doing. That was an eye-opener for me. In one way, it reminds me that if I have a child, I should do it not to base my life happiness on it, or that child could end up resenting me later in life. Having a child should be my icing on the cake on the life happiness scale.

I haven’t been running since last week, but not because I haven’t wanted to. I’m too busy trying to get my garden in! All that training and race preparation time took away from gardening time, and I’m paying for it. I may not have children to fuss over, but I have my tomatoes and basil.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 4:17 pm

    way to go!!! You are awesome! that race sounds crazy, fun.
    Bear is a smart kid. I like how he figured out his mom was manipulating him. Well, I DON’T like he found out she was manipulating him, but that he was aware of her con game which I think in some ways mitigates the guilt. How childish of her and mean to basically blackmail him.

    Those kids are so lucky to have you. I think you are helping them heal and be wise to the pettiness and disregard she has been exposing them to.

    What’s your next goal!!?? beside kickass tomatoes and basil mmmmm

  2. June 6, 2010 4:52 pm

    Woooohooooo!!! Great job finishing your first 10K! That sounds like a seriously fun race–maybe the mister and I will have to come run it. I think I’d like a tater tot along the way, and a dip in a baby pool 🙂
    And tomato and basil–yum! I would like to order some special Phoebe pesto now 🙂

  3. June 7, 2010 5:19 am

    Congrautlations on beating your goal! heck, congratulations on just finishing! sounds like an amazing race and that you’ve got one hece of a stepson.

  4. Sky permalink
    June 7, 2010 10:40 am

    Very impressive on the 10K. Woo hoo! (40 minutes and doing beer shots – wow! – I don’t know if it’s impressive or scary!)

  5. Kayjay permalink
    June 7, 2010 6:46 pm

    Woohoo on getting in at under your goal time!! Congratulations! That is a significant achievement as a 10K is tough! You should be very proud of yourself.

    (pat pat) – that’s for your back!

    That race sounds like a ton of fun too with so much entertainment along the way.

  6. June 8, 2010 6:58 am

    You go girl!

    (And yes, I agree, oh to be 16 again!)

  7. Denver Laura permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:23 am

    Congrats!!!

  8. June 17, 2010 11:36 pm

    WOOOHOOO congratulations on finishing under your goal, that’s fantastic!

    That marathon sounds crazy fun! Beer shots AND bacon, sign me up! ;o)
    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

