Skip to content

A Dream

December 30, 2009

I was in a hotel with a swimming pool in the lobby area. I was with some of my family. My oldest sister was there with her kids. A little girl came up to me. She looked like she could be my sister’s daughter, but my sister has two grown up daughters and is done having any more children. She definitely looked like us, like family.

I thought I should know her. I searched for her name. “Anna,” I said. She responded. I don’t remember what we talked about. Mostly small talk. I woke up after that.

Anna is one of the names I had been thinking of for my daughter. Originally, I had been thinking of a female version of Magic’s real name for our daughter. Anna is from my great-grandmother, Anna Antonia. I read about this name in my father’s memoir recently. My mother was supposed to be named after her grandmother, but apparently they got the name wrong, Antoinette. They never knew my great-grandmother’s real name until my parents started researching their geneology. I like this name, Anna Antonia.

I want to write this down because I don’t want to forget. I don’t know if it was my spirit baby coming to me in a dream. I don’t dream of her, typically. I have had lots of different visions of her though, when I have tried to communicate with her. I’ve questioned them all. I don’t know if it’s all just been a dream. I don’t want to forget this one.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. geeksinrome permalink
    December 30, 2009 1:20 pm

    Your mom was still probably named after her. Antoniett(a) would have been the diminutive of Antonia. Sort of like Charlie is of Charles. Maybe they Frenchified her name to make her seem chic and not WOPish ?? Anna Antonia and Antoinette are both beautiful names.

    Could the girl have been your G.G.mother?

  2. December 30, 2009 1:27 pm

    It sounds like a lovely dream – I don’t blame you for not wanting to forget it. Anna Antonia is a beautiful name, too. I believe in the power and significance of dreams. I hope the meaning of this one becomes clear to you in the coming months.
    Love,
    Maddy

  3. December 30, 2009 4:11 pm

    I am struck by the ordinariness of your interaction with the dream-girl, as if it is so unremarkable and simple that there is no need for any wacky dream-like quality to interfere with the obviousness of the relationship. This seems like such a strong indication that you know without a doubt that this is where your journey is supposed to be going. It sounds like a good ending for your story, too, and I hope you find your way there soon. Love the name, too – it has an almost fairy-tale quality without seeming overly old-fashioned. Perfect!

  4. December 30, 2009 7:59 pm

    I never know what to make of a dream.
    Recently I dreamed I was carrying my Dad around in an infant carrier. That one freaked me out a little bit.
    But your dream is much sweeter! I like the name Anna.

  5. January 1, 2010 6:10 pm

    Much like Mrs. LC I never know what to make of such detailed dreams. I hope the meaning comes clearer in the year to come.

  6. January 6, 2010 6:50 pm

    I love the name and the sweet interaction and familiarity– I do think dreams bring us gifts sometimes. these past two nights have included baby dreams, and I always wake and wonder if it means something, and if so, what… but then I realize, no matter what, It Means Something to me.

    Anna Antonia. Lovely lovely lovely.

  7. January 11, 2010 11:26 am

    That is a lovely name, indeed. I hope you get to use it one day soon.

  8. January 16, 2010 7:26 pm

    It’s a beautiful dream and lovely name. You should keep a pad and a pen next to your bed to write your dreams down immediately after you wake. This’ll help to insure that you don’t forget all of the details by the morning.

    T

  9. January 18, 2010 2:06 pm

    What a wonderful dream! Sorry I’m getting here so late, I didn’t get a notification of this post. I have been wondering how you’re doing and if you’ve made any plans/next steps so I thought I’d drop by and leave you a note. Hope this finds you well and that your hopes are high for 2010.

  10. January 22, 2010 9:42 pm

    Thinking of you and missing your posts.
    Hope you’re okay.
    Love,
    Maddy

  11. January 23, 2010 8:12 am

    Missing you, too. Hope all is well.

  12. January 28, 2010 12:59 am

    sigh. Longing sucks.

    Where are you Anna?

  13. January 28, 2010 1:25 pm

    Just checking to see how you’re doing. I hope all is well. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

