Skip to content

Hypno fertility, Part 1

November 10, 2009

Hypnosis was not one of the first things I thought about adding to my fertility toolbox. First, let’s back up and recognize that a little toolbox ain’t gonna get me pregnant. I need the whole cast and crew of “This Old House” to help me out!  I’m taking this analogy from Alice Domar’s book Conquering Infertility. She uses the analogy of having a multitool in your kitchen that is able to help you fix small stuff around your house. In the same way, you have coping tools for the small stuff that comes up in life, like having a bad day at work. But when you are building a house, that Swiss-Army-tool is not going to help you. You need a whole team of carpenters and big ass power tools. In the same way, you need a whole team of professionals and big ass power coping tools when you are dealing with something as stressful as infertility. Enter hypno_fertility.

I learned about hypno_fertility from three bloggers, Kayjay, Jill part 1 and Jill part 2, and Nikki. I have linked their posts about hypno_fertility with their names in the previous sentence. These gals have done a great job in explaining the theory of hypnosis and how it works with the subconscious mind. I hope you will read their posts, because it will give you a good background for the three sessions I have had so far with Ly.sni East.burn.

First Session

After having read of these bloggers experiences with Ly.sni, I knew I needed to tell her everything, even the stuff I don’t tell everyone because I’m afraid I’ll be considered
looney. I walked into the room that my session was going to be in, and I had a choice between the bean bag or the big poofy recliner chair. I was a bit taken aback, I admit, because I had never been in quite a room like this before. I chose the big poofy recliner chair, and felt like I was getting sucked into it. Lyn.si explained that it was good to get comfortable and to go ahead and put up the footrest. I felt a bit guilty for being this comfortable, but I would soon learn why it was important.

Knowing a little bit already from what I had read about the subconscious mind being important and how the conscious mind and subconscious mind need to be working together, and the right vs left brain, I told Ly.sni my whole story. First, I told her all the medical details, which I consider left brain. Then, I told her the whole story about our spirit baby and Walter_Makichen’s clairvoyant readings for us, which I consider right brain. Ly.sni said that many of her clients also had readings with Walter, and that she too saw spirit babies. We talked for a good hour about my background. All the while, Ly.sni was taking notes so that she would know what to say in while I was under a hypnotic trance. She also said that she prefered to call it hypnosis, though others may call it a guided visualization. She said that hypnosis is a much more powerful word.

One important “ah-ha” I got from this intake was from describing to Ly.sni the trauma I had from my last pregnancy. I described to her how I was doing trauma therapy before and during my FET. I told her how stressful my FET cycle was because I was working through the trauma. Ly.sni said, “no wonder your spirit baby was afraid to come with all those feelings you were having.” I had never thought of it that way. Even though I was very sad that my spirit baby did not come with my FET, I did recognize that I had worked through the trauma. I can’t really explain exactly what happened, but I do believe that the cycle of the trauma was broken. I am much calmer now, and I do not have the same fears I had back then. Sure, I still have some fears about doing IVF, because the process is inherently traumatic, but it’s about 1/100th of what I experienced back in the spring.

Now that it has been a month since my first session, I can not remember all the details. I do remember going into hypnosis fairly easily. I think I fell asleep for part of it, which is completely ok since the point is to reach the subconscious mind. You do not need to be conscious to get the benefit of hypnosis. I remember feeling an umbilical cord to my spirit baby. Ly.nsi lead me thorough being pregnant and having my baby. I could completely feel like the mother who had the baby placed on her chest for the first time. It brought tears to my eyes. When I was brought out of hypnosis, I felt great. I slept soundly that night, something that has been a rare commodity of late. I was given a relaxation CD made by Ly.nsi’s husband, but quite frankly, I just couldn’t get into his voice. I did feel pretty confident for the week or so after that first session with Ly.nsi. As I got closer to my cycle, the confidence has waned.

The main reason I sought out hypnosis was to counteract the negative hypnosis that I was getting from my doctor. I could not get the statistics out of my head. I also have a lot of negative self talk about my age and it’s repercussions. I know I didn’t need these thoughts constantly working against me. There is the evidence I have had since June of my normal cycles since starting the juicing, and my belief that I do still have a good egg left in me. In order to give this cycle a fair chance, I knew I had to get my subconscious totally on board. I’ll detail my next two hypno_fertility sessions in another post. These posts will not be password protected, but many of my future posts pertaining to my IVF cycle will be. If you would like to follow along, please remember to send me an e-mail requesting the password at phoebephoenixtales@gmail.com  The game is on!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 2:50 pm

    Leave a girl hangin…

  2. geeksinrome permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:13 pm

    very cool. your holistic approach is right on. And I love that you are counteracting that left-brainer doc with some instinct and hope.

    I am a real believer in sub-conscious suggestion/imagery/self-talk etc… If I hadn’t experienced it firsthand in my own life in athletics I never would have believed it. I learned some other weirdy technique later for a job that involved gaining people’s trust and THAT worked…

    The brain is doing so much we are unaware of. Tap into that girl!

  3. Infertileinthecity permalink
    November 11, 2009 8:56 am

    Stats! Eek, I have actually never had an RE give me stats on if it will work, and I think it’s sorta cruel when they do that (how will it make it any better to know the stats).
    Glad you are doing hypnosis, I did some on line hypnosis during my cycles. Hang in there!

  4. November 11, 2009 1:15 pm

    That’s so great! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself and you feel at peace. I’m pulling for you, love.
    *HUGS*

  5. November 14, 2009 3:22 pm

    Our subconscious mind is SO very powerful. Good for you for tapping in to counter-balance the negativity from your doc.

    Have you ever tried PSYCH-K? It is a very simple way to over-write the negative messages in your head. I was trained by a woman who, I believe, lives close to you. If you are interested, let me know.

Leave a Reply

