Skip to content

EPP CD 20: Welcome!

November 1, 2009

Welcome to my new blog! I have been busy unpacking boxes this weekend, and putting up pictures, so to speak. All of my blog posts are still here. I still have a little painting to do, like the header, but that will come soon. Moving sure is a lot of work! I’m getting used to my new digs. It’s beginning to grow on me!

Everything was going hunky dory with the meds, until a couple of days ago. I was hoping with the progesterone added that I would be feeling euphoric. Instead, I started feeling a bit depressed. I just wasn’t feeling like myself. This kind of scares me because it reminds me of how I was when I was pregnant. I know to watch out for it now before it gets too bad. This just gives me further evidence that the hormones mess with my mind.

I’ve been trying to give myself pep talks, but some days, it’s just hard. I am anxious about this upcoming cycle. I am trying hard to get those negative messages out of my head, like I’m too old, or playing back Dr. BloSun’s stern talks. Magic said to me this morning that he noticed a change in my fertility, for the better, since I’ve been juicing. This is the kind of positive feedback that I need! I know I also need to be careful what I read, so I may be selective which forums I read or which blogs I read. I’m feeling like I need to be very protective of myself right now from negative messages that might get stuck in my subconscious – more on that when I talk about the hypno>fertility. I also noticed that I was getting more emotional this week with certain blog posts. I get that it’s the hormones, but wow, what an impact it has on me!

I got some more positive feedback at the end of last week. I got a letter saying that my mammogram from two weeks ago was normal!! This is the first of four mammograms in which I have not gotten the “we would like you to come back for more testing” letter, that is also prefaced with “don’t freak out, it’s probably not cancer”. Before digital mammography, it was really bad. The worst was before my first IVF. I had to go back in for a repeat mammogram. They repeated it, twice, and I had to go back for one more. I was in the waiting room between mammograms 2 and 4. There was a cover article about Sherly_Crow and her breast cancer. I was sobbing, thinking that I had breast cancer, and I wouldn’t be able to do IVF. Four mammograms and one ultrasound later, they finally figured out it was a cyst. Digital mammography is so much better because they do not have to take as many pictures. This means less boob flattening and less pain (yay!).

While waiting for acupuncture with Dr. F last Friday, I was reading an article in a magazine called “Natural_Health“. This gal talked about how she had a malignant lump in her breast. In an effort to treat it naturally, she threw out all the shampoos, cosmetics, and soaps with parabens, started juicing vegetables, drank 3 shots of wheatgrass a day, ate organic, and worked less. I thought, I’m doing all that for my fertility already. I guess this will help me with preventing breast cancer. She ended up just getting a lumpectomy after originally being recommended for a double mastectomy, and forewent the radiation and chemo. Later, Dr. F and I got into another one of our “political healthcare” discussions. He was saying how the US has one of the highest breast cancer rates, and it’s because of the amount of dairy we consume. He said (don’t quote me on this because I don’t have a reference on hand) that a study was done comparing women in Japan and China, countries where dairy consumption is lower, to the US, where dairy consumption is high and the use of bovine growth hormone is also rampant. I stopped consuming dairy when I realized that it wasn’t good for my girly parts. I figured it was one of the factors in me getting so many fibroids. When I tried to add dairy back in in various forms, organic only, goat milk products only, kefir only, then sheep cheese only, I always noticed that it impacted my periods, and not for the better. I would like to someday go back to eating organic cheeses, but it might have to wait another 10 years when I’m through menopause and past the danger of getting more fibroids!

I am really excited about the new dairy-and-soy-free dairy products that are now out! I also eat very little soy, mostly just tamari, or wheat free soy sauce. All the products are coconut based. I can now have kefir again! I used to try to make my own coconut kefir, but it never would work out quite right.

I think that’s enough rambling for my first Word.press post! Remember, if you want to get the password for future password protected posts, please send me an e-mail at: phoebephoenixtales@gmail.com

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 5:06 pm

    A new home, how exciting! Congrats on a normal mammogram, that’s always really good! I can totally tell you’ve had a session with Lynsi just by how you’re avoiding reading certain forums and trying to keep the junk out of the subconscious, way to go! I can’t wait to follow your next cycle, that’s about to kick into high gear soon!

  2. November 1, 2009 8:30 pm

    I’ve read enough about TCM to know that dairy = bad. The problem is my favorite food in the entire universe is cheese. What’s a gal to do?

  3. November 1, 2009 9:39 pm

    Nice new digs! I added this URL to my reader.

    May I have the password, please?

  4. geeksinrome permalink
    November 2, 2009 8:59 am

    Love the new site. It looks awesome!!!
    I’m so glad that mammogram went well. I was always freaked I’d get BC before I could have kids. I always had really cystic breasts (one major cyst aspirated). Then one technician (lady) said I had the boobs of a 14-year-old (Ha!! if only she knew how flat I was at 14), but I guess it was supposed to be a compliment and explain why the tissue was so painful and knotty.

    Another great thing for breast health is breast feeding. I’ve been milked for 5 years straight now and my breat tissue has changed radically! Totally less lumpy and no more pain.

  5. okitoki permalink
    November 2, 2009 7:24 pm

    Hi, Phoebe! Just saying hello! Quite a blog you have here.

  6. November 3, 2009 11:00 am

    Welcome to your new home! I’ll email you for the password.

    I hear ya on how you can’t read certain blogs. I get like that too. Especially these past few days with my mom’s birthday. I know it isn’t “the same” but I get why you’re protecting yourself. We need to do that sometimes.
    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

