Skip to content

The Ice Princess Melt-eth

March 23, 2009

I really enjoyed all the comments on my last blog post. I was laughing at all the creative entries. Thank you everyone for helping me keep this light and fun! I really struggled with which name to choose for our totsicles (Dora, I like that too). I liked Snow Angel (Onwards and Sideways gets Honorable Mention as a close second), Yukiko, Flurry, Ben & Jerry (even though I was really looking for girl names), and Alpine. In the end, I picked totally different names.

I had one last trauma therapy appointment tonight before our transfer. I learned that part of what we do to integrate the trauma is to touch on the bad feelings from the trauma, then go to something that makes me feel good. I focused today on my garden. My hand hurt today from the power gardening I was trying to get in yesterday before I won’t be able to do that kind of physical labor for awhile. This is the first year I have gotten my peas seeded before the end of March. “Peas in by St. Patrick’s Day,” is what I have always heard. I was a few days late, but I got it done. It’s just as well that I did not get them in sooner, as we might get some snow tonight. I moved back and forth between the nasty feelings of the trauma to the wonderful feelings of my garden last year. In the aftermath of our loss, I poured all my creative energy into my garden, the best garden I have ever had. I recalled the awe inspiring encounters I had with the hummingbirds that would check me out at close range in the garden last year. I’m still feasting on frozen pesto from last year’s monstrous basil harvest, and I just dug up the carrots that I left over the winter.

As I was talking to my trauma therapist, I started to think of the frozen embryo transfer as planting peas. I didn’t plant just any kind of pea seeds yesterday. I planted snow peas. There was the name. My embryos are named Snow Peas! I decided that they would have the same name, because you can’t plant just one pea.

I leave you with a picture of the sweet snow peas I harvested last fall. I’ll be taking a break from the computer for a few days. In the meanwhile, I’ll be off tending to my garden and my newly planted snow peas!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lost in Space permalink
    March 23, 2009 11:49 pm

    I was literally just coming to send you good thoughts for tomorrow and your post popped up in my reader. (-;I love “Snow Peas” and their significance. Everything crossed for you tomorrow. It’s time to bring her home.

  2. geeksinrome permalink
    March 24, 2009 2:49 am

    My Sweet Pea likes the Snow Peas!We are thinking about you today (and tomorrow and forever… ) love you, E.

  3. 'Murgdan' permalink
    March 24, 2009 4:58 am

    Nice! I love ‘Snow Peas’…May your snow peas put down roots and sprout!

  4. DAVs permalink
    March 24, 2009 7:06 am

    I’m so impressed with your garden! I love snow peas. Sending you nothing but good wishes and good luck vibes!

  5. Coming2Terms permalink
    March 24, 2009 8:21 am

    Wishing you and the snow peas all the very best!!

  6. Dora permalink
    March 24, 2009 9:12 am

    Snow peas is perfect!

  7. Lori permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:24 am

    What a perfect name.Love the pic!And may all growing things be taking firm root.

  8. MamaSoon permalink
    March 24, 2009 1:16 pm

    I love gardening too. Go incubate. Spring is here and it is time. Best of luck. Rest well. Say hello to the snowpeas!

  9. MamaSoon permalink
    March 24, 2009 2:21 pm

    BTW ~ thanks to you, I am going for my first maya abdominal massage thursday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

