Skip to content

Just FAT

December 19, 2008

I heard from a co-worker that one of my employees was worried about my car accident because she thought I was pregnant. This is not the only “fat” reminder I have gotten over the past couple of months. Another co-worker did flat out ask me if I was pregnant about a month ago. Even my chiropractor asked me last week if I had gained weight. Note to self – lose weight I gained after pregnancy loss. I gained about 8-10 pounds, which really shows on my thin frame. I was planning on starting a running program, but that all got nixed with the car accident. I have to get my back and neck healed first. It’s amazing how much my body is holding on to this weight. At least I am not gaining anymore. Just please stop assuming I’m pregnant! I’m just fat.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. luna permalink
    December 19, 2008 10:20 am

    oh, I really hate that! so annoying. since when is my body up for scrutiny and discussion? that’s one of those times I wish people would just leave the judgment to themselves…

  2. Duck permalink
    December 19, 2008 11:23 am

    i gained the ivf weight, and i’m not big so everyone notices 15 pounds and have been working my ass off trying to get rid of it simply because I know people were looking at me an assuming i’m knocked up when i actually just had ivf fat.

  3. Lost in Space permalink
    December 19, 2008 3:34 pm

    Seriously, what gives anyone the right to even ask this kind of question?!? I thought it was a known rule to never ask a woman if she is pregnant unless you can see the baby’s head crowning!! Or maybe that is just my rule so I can ignore pg bellies. Ughhh, I’m sorry you had to hear that and hope you are on the mend and feeling better soon.

  4. Denver Laura permalink
    December 21, 2008 12:01 am

    My step-father-in-law felt like he had the right to ask when I turned down a beer at 4 pm. i said, “No, I’m fat, thanks for asking.” I don’t think I made a friend that day, but it proved the point. Don’t ask unles you’re prepared for the answer.

  5. In Due Time permalink
    December 21, 2008 2:56 am

    (((Hugs)))I hope you have a blessed new year.ICLW

  6. geeksinrome permalink
    December 23, 2008 7:23 am

    ugh! that would always happen every month with my PMS — swollen boobs, paunchy tummy from water retention, that cranky glow… It made me so mad, but since I always thought I had a chance of getting preggers, I also secretly hoped it was true and that they really were signs of pregnancy. never were. when i finally did get preggo NOBODY noticed ’til I told people at FOUR months. so yes, the lesson is if someone looks pregnant they are probably not!! I agree, wait til the head crowns and then it’s for sure šŸ™‚

  7. loribeth permalink
    December 26, 2008 2:51 pm

    Ugh! Been there, & it's not fun. I'm sorry. šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

